Wittmann Alder Wittmann Militaria The Mother's Cross
Medals Catagories  Home Page  Inventory  Updates  Mailing List  Contact  Order  Terms & Condtions 

The Ehrenkreuz der Deutschen Mutter, or in English, the "Cross of Honour of the German Mother", often referred to colloquially as the Mutterehrenkreuz (Mother’s Cross of Honour) or simply Mutterkreuz (Mother’s Cross), was a state decoration and civil order of merit conferred by the government of the German Reich to honour a “Reichsdeutsche” (Imperial German) mother for exceptional merit to the German nation.

Eligibility was later extended to include Volksdeutsche (ethnic German) mothers. The decoration was conferred from between 1939 until 1945 in three grades: bronze, silver, and gold, to females who exhibited probity, exemplary motherhood, and who conceived and raised at least four or more children in the role of a parent.

MOTHERSCROSS #40206 Bronze Mother's Cross with Ribbon

This Bronze Mother's Cross is in good condition throughout, with perfect blue and white enamel. The brass sunburst and borders have nicely patinated.

The reverse of the cross has the usual date and facsimile Hitler signature.

This medal is accompanied by the original long blue and white striped grosgrain ribbon.

A good, solid example here.

Excellent Plus. $95.00

MOTHERSCROSS #40207 Miniature Bronze Mother's Cross

This is the miniature version of the Bronze Mother's Cross that would have been worn on the breast. The enamel on this cross is in good condition.

The reverse of the cross has the same dating and Hitler facsimile signature as the larger standard version.

There is no ribbon or backing with this miniature.

Excellent. $50.00

MOTHERSCROSS #40208 Cased Gold Mother's Cross with Ribbon

The case for this Mother's Cross is in the usual dark blue leatherette. it shows some wear across the surfaces and the corners are getting bare. The lid is embossed in gold with an image of the medal.

The interior lid is lined in padded white satin. it is marked with the maker "Wilhelm Deumer Lüdenscheid". The lower portion of the case is lined in tan felt and has recessed areas for the medal and the ribbon.

The medal itself is in pristine condition, with 100% of the original gilding and perfect enamel. The original long style ribbon is in equally perfect condition.

A very choice example fo the type here; it looks to have never been taken out of the box.

Near Mint. $225.00

MOTHERSCROSS #40104C Bronze Mother's Cross with Ribbon

This Bronze Mother's Cross is nicely toned throughout. The blue and white enamel on the cross are in good condition except for a small missing piece at the tip of the arm.

The ribbon is in the standard white grosgrain type, with blue center and edge stripes.

A decent Mother's Cross here.

Good. $65.00

MOTHERSCROSS #36314C Bronze Mother’s Cross with Short Ribbon

This Mother’s Cross has a fine patina across its surfaces. The blue and white enamel on the legs of the cross is in nice condition having one tiny nip at the right bottom corner leg. The cross has the sunburst in the center area and then has the medallion which reads “The German Mother” around the rim. Inside is a white enamel field with black immobile swastika.

The reverse of the medal is also nicely patinaed having the date of inception “16 Dezember 1938” with a facsimile Hitler signature. A short blue and white striped ribbon accompanies the award.

Excellent. $65.00

MOTHERSCROSS #32967 Silver Mother’s Cross with Ribbon

This Silver Mother’s Cross has a little oxidation to the silvered areas but they are still all there. The enamel to all of the legs remains in perfect condition. There is an applied medallion in the center also having an oxidized border. The white enamel field and black mobile swastika are in perfect condition.

The reverse of the medal has good silvering and is stamped with the inception date, “16 Dezember 1938” and is complete with the Hitler signature. There is a short blue and white striped ribbon attached.

Excellent. $95.00

MOTHERSCROSS #29312C Silver Mother's cross with Ribbon

This Silver Mother’s Cross has the standard enameled legs which have white borders with blue insides. The center area has a medallion fitting which features the purpose of the medal raised out “Der Deutschen Mutter”. In the center is a white enamel round field with immobile black enamel swastika. In between the legs is a silvered sunburst image.

Attached to the top loop of the Mother’s Cross is a ribbon which has some age staining. The ribbon is white having a blue center stripe with stripes running out of white, blue and white on each side.

On the reverse of this silvered medal, it is interesting to note that the description “16 Dezember 1938” and Hitler’s signature on all raised out of the medal instead of the usual where they are engraved. This must be just the work of a smaller manufacturer.

Excellent Plus. $135.00

MOTHERSCROSS #31408 Bronze Mother's Cross with Ribbon

This Bronze Mother’s Cross has very fine blue and white enamel to the legs and the bronze sunburst and center round medallion have a nice patination to their surfaces. The center field has perfect white enamel as does the black immobile swastika. The reverse of the medal is engraved "16.Dezember 1938”, complete with the usual facsimile Adolf Hitler signature.

This particualr medal comes with a very long, blue and white striped ribbon. A nice cross here!.

Excellent Plus. $75.00